The Maw by Taylor Zajonc #Review #ARC #Thriller #Adventure #ARCReview

Book Review

IMG_20180205_161231

“For fans of Clive Cussler and Michael Crichton, a thrilling tale of an underground expedition to the deep . . . and the ultimate struggle for survival.”

Hmmm, whenever I read “For fans of…” or “If you like … then you will love this”, I’m always a little skeptical. Those are some big words! Especially when you are targeting Michael Crichton fans like myself. For me, his books are epic adventures and I’m constantly missing new releases (Ghost writing doesn’t count). But, I do love this genre so when I saw “The Maw” I decided to give it a chance.

The Maw (Expected Release Date: June 5, 2018)

For fans of Clive Cussler and Michael Crichton, a thrilling tale of an underground expedition to the deep . . . and the ultimate struggle for survival.

Milo Luttrell never expected to step inside the mouth of an ancient cave in rural Tanzania. After all, he’s a historian–not an archaeologist. Summoned under the guise of a mysterious life-changing opportunity, Milo suddenly finds himself in the midst of an expedition into the largest underground system in Africa, helmed by a brash billionaire-turned-exploration guru and his elite team of cavers. It’s a once-in-a-lifetime chance to finally solve a century-old disappearance of the famed explorer Lord Riley DeWar, an enigmatic figure who both made–and nearly ruined–Milo’s fledgling career.

Determined to make the most of his second chance, Milo joins the team and begins a harrowing descent into one of Earth’s last secrets: a dangerous, pitch-black realm of twisting passages and ancient fossils nearly two thousand feet underground. But when a storm hits the surface base camp, stranding the cavers and washing away supplies, all communication to the outside world is lost. As the remaining resources dwindle and members of the team begin to exhibit strange and terrifying abilities, Milo must brave the encroaching darkness to unearth the truth behind DeWar’s fascination with the deep–and why he never left.

Add to Goodreads

giphy

My Thoughts…

Well, I’m really glad I gave it a chance because though it’s no “Crichton”, I really enjoyed it! This author knows how to get your blood pumping.

It’s well-written, action-packed, and ultimately, just a ton of fun! I’m not going to write a huge review for this book because frankly it doesn’t need it.

If you do enjoy Clive Cussler novels and/or Michael Crichton, I think you will appreciate Zajonc’s story. Right now, the best praise I can give it is that during this last week while my family was going through some very tragic life stuff, “The Maw” kept me good and distracted. It was that good!

Rating.. A

*Thank you to Netgalley and Taylor Zajonc for providing me with an eARC in exchange for an honest review.

 

2 thoughts on “The Maw by Taylor Zajonc #Review #ARC #Thriller #Adventure #ARCReview

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s