A Betrayal So Cruel by Candace Wondrak @CWondrak (The Reckoning Book #2) #Review #Paranormal #UrbanFantasy #Romance

Book Review

IMG_20180523_152043.jpg

Having just finished the first book in The Reckoning Series (Read Review), I was super excited to receive the ARC for book #2 soon after! Thanks Candace!

A Betrayal So Cruel (Expected Release Date: June 1, 2018)

Welcome to the end of the world. Entrances to the Underworld are to the right, and the road to Hell is on the left.

Humanity wasn’t prepared for Armageddon. We didn’t think anything could take us down. How stupid. All it took was the Four Horsemen and a vengeful Hades, along with a crazy cult that Deb ran from. We’ve lost so much along the way, but it isn’t over.

It will never be over, not until Hades gets what he wants. What does he want? I don’t know, but I’m going to find out and make sure he never gets it. He hates me, hates Dagon, and for that, I hate him. I don’t care about his reasons. Earth and its people are not toys for the gods and Angels.

And Dagon—oh, Dagon. Despite it all, he can be sweet. But I don’t want sweet. I want danger. I want to live before I’m forced to play a part in this ancient war.

I’m being watched, lied to. I can’t trust anyone anymore. I can’t depend on anyone. Nothing is true in this apocalypse. Those with the prettiest of faces are the worst offenders of all.

The Devil cannot have me…but that won’t stop him from trying.

A Betrayal so Cruel is the second in The Reckoning trilogy, an Urban Fantasy/Apocalyptic mashup perfect for fans of Buffy, Supernatural, and quirky characters!

Out soon: book 3, A Reckoning so Sweet

Add to Goodreads

giphy.gif

My Thoughts…

So again, I find myself marveling over this strange mashup of Greek mythology, Angels/ Demons, and of course all things supernatural. One would think that this is just way too much for a book series but I swear it works!

I blasted through the first one and the second one was no exception. I even found myself blinking somewhat dumbfoundedly at the last page because I just wasn’t ready for it to be over. Don’t you hate when that happens?

Anyway, this book picks up where the first one left us and the action starts IMMEDIATELY! The world is in dire straights and Lexa’s relationship with her “owner” is as complicated as ever. The tension is most definitely thickening between plucky Lexa and Dagon and it is very entertaining to witness. We learn more about what’s behind the “end of the world”, who is the driving force etc…, and the lines between Good and Evil are blurred.

We also learn more about Dagon and his history and it’s a fascinating take on the classic “Hades and Persephone” myth. I don’t want to give too much away but I was surprised when I discovered more about Dagon’s lineage.

There is so much more to this installment but of course I don’t want to ruin it for you. You’ll just have to take my word for it. It’s fun, unique. and even a little sexy at times.

Rating… A

Available on Amazon

Candace Wondrak

4 thoughts on “A Betrayal So Cruel by Candace Wondrak @CWondrak (The Reckoning Book #2) #Review #Paranormal #UrbanFantasy #Romance

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s