The Proposal by S.E. Lynes @SELynesAuthor #Review #FallReading #Blogtober #Thriller #NewRelease #HalloweenReads

Book Review

40650083

And next on the docket, we have this super intense, insanely brilliant novel by S.E. Lynes!

This is book #4 on my Fall TBR, but make no mistake, I’ve been cheating on my Fall reading list with my regular TBR list, because let’s be honest here, how else would I get through them all lol!

The Proposal (Release Date: September 21st, 2018)

The first thing you should know, dear reader, is that I am dead…

Teacher Pippa wants a second chance. Recently divorced and unhappy at work, she uproots her life and moves to the countryside, determined to make a fresh start. But Pippa soon realises: your troubles are never far behind.

When Pippa meets blue-eyed Ryan Marks, he is funny and charming. He is haunted by his past – but insists he is a changed man.

He might just be the answer to all of her problems. And Pippa can tell the truth from lies. She’d know if she were in danger. Wouldn’t she?

From Amazon chart bestseller S.E. Lynes, The Proposal is a page-turning and utterly gripping thriller about the lengths we will go to for someone we love. Perfect for fans of Gone GirlThe Woman in the Window and The Wife Between Us.

Add to Goodreads

IMG_20181004_081819_729 (1)

My Thoughts…

How can you not want to read this book after an introductory line like that?!

I loved this book! It’s truly a mind-boggling spiral into madness and I enjoyed every minute of it.

At first, I was terribly confused by the epistolary style of this story. It’s done in a combination of blog posts, audio recordings, and journal entries by the MC. Mostly, it was the blog posts that had me scratching my head because they seemed like inane ramblings of someone entirely different, and I couldn’t understand the point of them. I stuck with it because I became increasingly intrigued by the characters, and eventually the posts started to make sense. Or at least, I understood their relevance.

Once I got over that initial hurdle, I was properly gripped and as promised, I could not put it down. I loved that this story is told by a “blogging” author, who understands the ins and outs of social media etc… It’s very modern and perfect for today’s style of publishing and online marketing. I mean, this is my world so I really appreciated that aspect.

‘Pippa’ is a very relatable character (until things start to unravel), and she’s the perfect protagonist for the modern world. I think readers will connect with her on a personal level, which enhances the reading experience. As for the rest, hold on to your hats and enjoy the ride!

This is the perfect Halloween read for people who enjoy something a little more sinister this time of year, but aren’t fans of horror.

Rating… A

SE Lynes

 

 

7 thoughts on “The Proposal by S.E. Lynes @SELynesAuthor #Review #FallReading #Blogtober #Thriller #NewRelease #HalloweenReads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s