Blog Tour: Interview with Kaitlyn Davis, Author of Frost

IMG_20170119_221738.jpg

I can’t get over this cover! It is absolutely gorgeous. Frost is book #1 in the Midnight Ice series by Kaitlyn Davis.

She was kind enough to “drop by” Reads & Reels today to talk about her new book which is a spin-off from Kaitlyn’s hugely popular Midnight Fire series. 

Frost-Midnight Ice Book #1 (Release Date: January 26,2017)

Even the hottest love can turn a girl cold-blooded…

Life’s tough for a vampire thief on the run—just ask Pandora Scott, she knows. Four years ago she ran away from home after everyone she loved betrayed her. But now her annoyingly grown up (and handsome) ex boyfriend is stalking her, begging her to return. A mysterious vamp with a particularly dangerous (and sexy) stare keeps popping unexpectedly into her life. The extremely powerful head vampire of New York is hunting her down because she may or may not have broken into his highly-secure, highly-secretive personal vault. And the fate she’s been trying to outrun? Well, it’s about to catch up. Because even a super-speedy vamp with the ability to disappear can’t escape her own destiny.

A brand new spinoff to Midnight Fire, a bestselling series with over 200,000 copies sold and over 5000 5-star reviews on Goodreads! Fans will enjoy special appearances from Kira, Luke and Tristan while falling in love with the new characters and new adventure of Midnight Ice.

*Please note, you do not need to read the books of Midnight Fire to enjoy Frost (Midnight Ice Book . They are two standalone series with character crossover. 

Add to Goodreads

 Available

Amazon | iBooks | B&N | Google Play | Kobo | Smashwords

source

Chatting with Kaitlyn Davis

Okay, pitch time! If you had to tell someone about your new book Frost in thirty seconds or less, what would you say?

Yikes! This is always so tough! Here goes…Frost is a paranormal romance about a vampire thief named Pandora who’s on the run from an ex-boyfriend, a super powerful vamp, and, well, a little thing called fate! The fantasy world is inspired by vampire as well as Greco-Roman lore, and it’s a spin-off to my popular Midnight Fire series, which has solder over 200,000 copies.

And if you had to describe the book in three words, what would they be?

Action-packed, bad-ass and passionate!

This book is part vampire, and part inspired by Greek Mythology. Can you tell us what this world is like and how you came up with it?

I always try to do something a little different with my books, something unique, and with paranormal romance that can be difficult to do because there is so much material already out there!

So I decided the best thing to do was to create my own paranormal race! They’re called Titans and they’re sort of a supernatural police force with enhanced strength and stamina, and some have special abilities like tracking or creating lightning or erasing minds. While the beings themselves don’t have much in common with what we think of as the titans of ancient mythology, the lore surrounding their secret society is influenced by some of my favorite Greek tales. You’d have to read to find out more though

And vampires also play a huge role! My original series, Midnight Fire, concentrated on the vampire lore and also included a species I created called Conduits who are basically awesome fire-wielding vampire slayers. So with Midnight Ice, I wanted to expand upon that universe by adding this whole new titan species into the mix! We’ll see all three supernatural beings interact (in some killer action sequences, if I do say so myself )

This is a spin-off to your bestselling Midnight Fire series…so, what idea came first? Did you set out to write a spin-off series or did you come up with the story first and then rework the Midnight Fire characters into it?

A little bit of both! Long before Midnight Ice was even an idea, a character jumped into my head—a vampire thief on the run from a past and future she couldn’t escape. I knew I wanted to write her story, but I wasn’t sure how—especially because I’d already written a vampire book and wasn’t sure how I could make the concept seem new all over again.

But the more my thief, Pandora, came to life in my mind, the more I realized she belonged in the same world as Midnight Fire. Her snark, her wit, her act-first-think-second nature completely fit with the characters I introduced in Midnight Fire, and as soon as I realized that, the rest came naturally!

Fans had been asking me for more Midnight Fire ever since the last book, Scorch, went on-sale. So it was so amazing to be able to deliver something fresh while staying in a familiar world And, revisiting the characters from my original series was like hanging out with old friends—so freaking fun!

This is the first book in the Midnight Ice series. What are you planning next?

I’ve already started working on the sequel, Freeze, and I’m hoping to get it out my April/May! I’m feeling incredibly inspired by Pandora’s story at the moment, so I’m riding the momentum as far as it will go. But I can’t give anything else away—too many spoilers!

Do you have a favorite paranormal world?

If we’re strictly speaking paranormal (not fantastical), I’d say one of the most interesting worlds is the one in the Sookie Stackhouse series! Charlaine Harris had such a cool idea to take what is usually the cornerstone of paranormal stories (secrecy from the human world), and to totally reverse this by saying vampires and other supernatural creatures have outted themselves to the public.

However, in a strictly nostalgic and book lover sense, the Vampire Academy series (and its spin-off Bloodlines) is probably my favorite paranormal read!

Is there a message in this series that you want readers to grasp?

Most of my stories carry a similar message—love wins! It can conquer any obstacle, overcome any hurdle, surprise you, give you a reason to live, give you the heart and strength to keep fighting. In the end, if you have real love (which doesn’t always mean the most obvious love), you can handle anything. Maybe I’m just a hopeless romantic, but I truly believe that.  

And I think for Midnight Ice in particular, it’s a story about taking control of your own destiny. In this day and age, so many aspects of life can feel pre-determined, but people should always chase their dreams and follow their hearts, because if you fight hard enough, you’ll succeed.

What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why?

Ooh, I love this question even though I hate playing favorites! One of my favorite parts of writing any romance is the build up—the little glances, the lingering touches, the blossoming friendship. But in Midnight Ice, we’re sort of entering in the middle of a love story, so instead of the more traditional build-up, it’s full of love-hate tension. And honestly, I had so much fun writing the banter between Pandora and her ex-boyfriend Jax. There’s a scene where they’ve been stranded on a boat in the middle of the ocean, and I was quietly chuckling into my keyboard the entire time I was working on it!

But there’s also a big reveal chapter at the end, and that was so great to write, because it was cool to finally tie together all the different threads I’d dropped into the story leading up to that point.

Thank you for answering all of these questions!

Thank you so much for hosting me!! 🙂

If you haven’t read the bestselling Midnight Fire series, you can get the first two books free when you buy the entire series at once!

img_20170128_170519

Midnight Fire

Kira Dawson has the power to burn vampires to a crisp. The problem is, she doesn’t know it yet. The even bigger problem is, she’s dating one.

When Kira Dawson moves to South Carolina, she meets Luke, a blond goofball who quickly becomes her best friend, and Tristan, a mysterious bad boy who sends shivers down her spine. Kira knows they’re keeping secrets, but when she discovers Tristan’s lust for blood and her own dormant mystical powers, Kira is forced to fight for her life and make the heartbreaking decision between the familiar comfort of friendship and the fiery passion of love.

From bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis comes a paranormal romance perfect for fans of Twilight, The Vampire Diaries, and Buffy The Vampire Slayer.

Bundle Includes

Ignite – Book One

Simmer – Book Two

Blaze – Book Three

Scorch – Book Four

Burn – An Anniversary Novella

Available 

Amazon | iBooks | B&N | Google Play | Kobo | Smashwords

About the Author

5276341

Bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis writes young adult fantasy novels under the name Kaitlyn Davis and contemporary romance novels under the name Kay Marie. 

Always blessed with an overactive imagination, Kaitlyn has been writing ever since she picked up her first crayon and is overjoyed to share her work with the world. When she’s not daydreaming, typing stories, or getting lost in fictional worlds, Kaitlyn can be found indulging in some puppy videos, watching a little too much television, or spending time with her family. If you have any questions for her–about her books, about scheduling an event, or just in general–you may contact her at: KaitlynDavisBooks@gmail.com

To stay up-to-date with all of Kaitlyn’s new releases, sign up for her new release newsletter here: TinyLetter.com/KaitlynDavisBooks

Kaitlyn Davis | Goodreads | Twitter Facebook | Instagram | Youtube | Tumblr | Wattpad | Pinterest | Amazon

Blog Tour Organized by:

img_20170119_222247

YA Bound Book Tours

10 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Interview with Kaitlyn Davis, Author of Frost

  1. Pingback: A Series for Sunday: Frost (The Midnight Ice Series) By Kaitlyn Davis – Reads & Reels

  2. Thank you so much for joining my blog tour and sharing my book with your fans!! And thank you to everyone who commented! So happy you’re liking my cover, I designed it myself 🙂 I hope you enjoy my book if you decide to read it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Awesome post and interview! I seriously will be adding Frost to my reading list as it sounds fantastic. I will probably at some point backtrack and read Midnight Fire, however, Frost sounds way more intriguing to me at the moment. Thank you!
    -Luna

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s